top of page
Search
  • ezekielhinger

Ezekiel Hinger autobiography

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

I'm from San Diego California. My interests are sports. I like to skateboard and surf. I skate at my local skate park in San Marcos and I surf in Carlsbad. I work at a grocery store and will attend a community college for 2 years. I played soccer from the time I was 6 until my sophomore year of high school. I did alright in school. Never got an F and nothing lower than a 2.o gpa, that's all I can say. Middle school was a different story. After middle school I wanted to go to a public high school. My parents thought otherwise. Most of my high school experience occurred at Calvin Christian High. It was definitely not your typical high school. It had it's ups and downs but overall it is a very small school. Consisting of no more than 150 kids. The staff and teachers are really nice. The school work was hard. Sports was where I really shined in school. Considering it was a small school and that I was an athlete I had a lot of opportunity to play sports. I played baseball, track, soccer, and football. Never cross country. I tried out for football my freshman year of high school. I made the varsity team and it instantly made my high school experience better. I made a lot of friends even though I was the only freshman on the team. It definitely toughened me up and showed me what varsity football was all about. I had little playing time but when I was on the field I gave it my all every play and even scored my first touch down. Something clicked for me in my sophomore year. I played running back again and I earned MVP on the varsity team with over 20 touchdowns and over 900 rushing yards. Private school sports are often underappreciated and overlooked. I even had a girlfriend at the time. Junior year came along I was a lot more quiet in class. My grades weren't the best. Covid happened which meant sports like football weren't a thing for high school. I had nothing to work for in school. Sports gave school meaning to me. I do wish I had tried a little bit harder in all my classes. I had to think about what was right for me and my academic future. Pacific Sands Academy really helped me with that. I felt really comfortable doing online school and completing the tasks they had for me. It was hard leaving my friends, my girl friend, and Surf Club. It was for the best for me in the long run, and I am happy with my decision and grateful to be graduating early. Pacific Sands allowed me to finish my junior year online. With all the credits I had from Calvin Christian I only took 3 classes my senior year. Pacific Sands has a selection of classes you can choose from to earn the credits you need to graduate. Attending online school gave me more work time to get my license and work to earn money. I still had friends I would skate and surf with. I am grateful for skateboarding because it can boost confidence and bring homies together. I'm going to keep working and hopefully get promoted to cashier. Next school year during the fall I will attend community college. My dream job is a firefighter but I want to be an EMT first.

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page